The Matabeleland Branch, alongside other branches based in Zimbabwe, used to fall under the wing of the Central Branch until the latter was disbanded and formed into a Central Advisory Committee. The Matabeleland Branch now stands as an autonomous body with its own constitution and serves the interests of former members of the force in the Matabeleland region.

Office Bearers
  • Chairman: Ken Macdonald (5247) - Tel: 0772 252525(m)
  • Vice Chairman & Treasurer: Karl Hurry (C837/9499/110890) - Tel: 0712 213607(m)
  • Hon. Secretary: Denise Hurry - Tel: 0712 213607(m)
  • Almoner: Gill Parry
  • Committee Members:
    • Gordon Geddes (6068)
    • T Craston
  • Editor Outpost magazine: Karl Hurry (C837/9499/110890) - Tel: 0712 213607(m)

1st Monday Monthly
Sundowner Buster's Club
13 July 2012
Annual Matabeleland Dinner - Guest Speaker Rick Van Malsen BCR 26 on the Park, Bulawayo
12 September 2012
Widows/Widowers Tea Hillside Dam
3 November 2012
Annual Luncheon Church Hall, Church of the Ascention, Hillside

Matabeleland AGM
Karkl Hurry reports that the AGM of the Matabeleland Branch of the Regimental Association was held on Saturday the 6 April 2013 at the Green & White, Bulawayo. Chairman, Ken MacDonald, read his report and commented on the success of the various functions held during the year, notably the Annual Dinner, the Ladies Luncheon hosted by Nikki Brown, the braai hosted by Ian And Tupps Paterson, and the Annual Luncheon. The existing Committee agreed to continue and were unanimously returned to office:

  • Chairman: Ken R MacDonald
  • Vice Chair/Treasurer: Karl V Hurry
  • Secretary: Denise C Hurry
  • Member: Gordon Geddes
  • Member: T Cranston

The meeting was followed by a social bring and braai.
13 April 2013

Informal Functions: The Matabeleland Branch monthly sundowner is generally well attended by former members and their wives. Karl and Denise Hurry host a lunch time braai mid year, at their poolside pub, the Green and White. Plans are afoot to hold functions at the Hillside Dam.

Matabeleland Function May 2011: Left to right - Roy Stephens, PR6177 Tom Richie, 8303 Rob Bristow,
Eryl Roselt, Rod Tourle, 9499 Karl Hurry and 5962 Paul Kruger

Matabeleland Annual Dinner June 2010: The Branch recently held its Annual Dinner Function (June 2010).
In the photograph above: Standing - NSPO 901227 John Glossop, 7435 'Taffy' Jones, 110711 Gus Oosthuizen,
6247 Tim Cherry, 6068 Gordon Geddes, C 1231 Tony Turner, Guest Rod Tourle, 6540 Hugh Squair,
Guest Dave Johnstone-Butcher, NRP John Minshull & 8766 Gordon Kent
Seated - 9499 Karl Hurry, 4728 GWF 'Bill' Ellway, 5247 Ken MacDonald, 27346 P/R Father Francis Day,
Associate Member Peter Rollason.



The Matabeleland Branch has only recently commenced the production of a regular Magazine edited by Karl Hurry. Karl joined the force as a cadet in June 1974 and after depot training, as a regular, spend time in Matabeleland. He did two tours of duty in the force the second being mostly in Mashonaland at Sipililo, before joining the Criminal Investigation Department and enjoying a posting to Fort Victoria. He left the successor force in September 1982 and is currently the Managing Director of a Bulawayo based security company.

The BSA Police Police Anti-terrorist Unit (PATU).

Images by Dick Hamley
author of
'The Regiment'